Takoyaki Recipe & Learnings

Xing Du
3 min readDec 29, 2019

--

I tried making Takoyaki today following this amazing video tutorial by Just One Cookbook and it turned out to be simpler than I expected. But there are a few things I wish I knew before I start cooking and I’m writing them down to share with future me & whoever is interested.

Recipe

First quickly go over the recipe. This is my take based on the video tutorial. It does a better job explaining and I recommend watching it first.

Prerequisites

Tools:

  • Takoyaki pan * 1
  • Takoyaki pick * a pair. You can replace with skewers if that’s easier to find for you.
  • Basting brush * 1
tools

I bought all my tools from this amazing kitchenware store called “Kitchen Land” (located in Garden Grove, CA)

Ingredients:

  • All purpose flour * 1 cup
  • Baking powder * 2 tsp
  • Salt * 0.5 tsp
  • Eggs * 2
  • Soy sauce * 1tsp
  • Dashi stock * 1.5 cup
  • Octopus 0.125lb
  • Onion * half (medium, finely chopped)
  • Cabbage * 2 pieces(finely chopped)
ingredients

Steps

  • Chop octopus into small pieces and finely chop onion and cabbage
  • Mix flour, baking powder, salt, eggs, soy sauce and dashi stock in a bow and whisk well.
  • Heat the pan and brush some cooking oil, pour the mix in each hole
  • Add octopus pieces and toppings (onion & cabbage)
  • Flip with picks / skewers
cooking

And once fully cooked it should look like this

cooked

Learnings

  • I made dashi stock using the dashi powder I found at an Asian grocery store. It comes in small packages and I used an entire bag of powder for the stock. It’s too salty and in hindsight I should have used half or 1 tbsp instead.
  • Basting brush + cooking oil may be better replaced with cooking oil spray.
  • The pan I used is not great: it slides often and does not heat evenly (the middle four holes heats much faster than the corner holes). I think this kind of pan would be better.
  • When pouring the mix, leave some room in the hole. The octopus and toppings will increase the volume quickly and makes flipping much harder.

--

--

Xing Du

Minimalist. Game Developer. Software Engineer. DevOps enthusiast. Foodie. Gamer.